Baby Girl Batik Background

It took me a few days, but I finally finished my card using techniques I learned in day 3 of Online Card Classes Heatwave class. Julie Ebersole taught a cool new way to use emboss resist backgrounds and I thought it would be fun to try. She suggests that you use a solid stamp – and weirdly enough, I don’t have very many of those! Uh-oh, guess I need to buy more stamps (as if I even need a reason!)

OCC Heatwave Day 3 Front

For this card I used Stampin’ UP! stamps and stamped them in Versamark all over the card front. Then I used clear embossing powder and heat set. Then I folded the panel at several different angles and places to give it the distressed look. I taped my panel to my craft mat and using three different shades of pink Distress Inks, I started blending them onto the panel – starting with the lightest and working my way up to the darkest. After I was happy with the way it looked, I took a sheet of copy paper and used my iron to take off the clear embossing powder. You don’t have to do this step, but I wanted my design to be matted as opposed to glossy. Two things: make sure you don’t use ANY steam or it will change the look of your design as Distress Inks react with water! Also, you will need to keep changing out your copy paper once it gets embossing powder so that you can get all of it off.

OCC Heatwave Day 3 Background Closeup

To finish off the card, I used a Lawn Fawn die and cut it three times: once in white, then in light pink, and finally in deeper shade of pink. I layered them just slightly offset from each other to give a shadow/ombre sort of look. I thought about adding clear embossing powder to the top layer but since I went to the trouble to take the glossy factor off the background, I just kept it as is.

OCC Heatwave Day 3 Congrats Closeup

SUPPLIES

Below, I have listed  links to some of the supplies I used for this project. (Not all of them are available through my affiliate companies, so please scroll to the bottom to see the full supply list.) I purchased all of the supplies on my own and I personally buy from the companies I’ve linked with. I do receive a small commission if you choose to purchase products by clicking on the links in this post, but there is NO ADDITIONAL charge to you. I greatly appreciate your support.

Please note, I am can only get the American companies to link with images in each individual post at this point, so there may be import and/or additional charges for European and non-US residents. I am working to get UK companies added to each post in the future. In the meantime, there are limited text links below, or you can click ‘Buy Crafty Supplies’ on the menu above to purchase these items through UK companies.

Lawn Fawn BIG SCRIPTY WORDS Lawn Cuts Dies LF1172

FULL SUPPLY LIST:

Stampin’ UP!: Something For Baby stamp set

Lawn Fawn: Big Scripty Words dies

EK Success Powder Tool

Hero Arts: Clear Fine Embossing Powder

Distress Inks: Spun Sugar, Worn Lipstick, and Festive Berries

Ranger: Mini Ink Blending Tools

Tonic: Nuvo Glue Pen – Medium, Glass Cutting Mat

MISTI stamping tool

Crafter’s Companion: Stick ‘n Spray Temporary Re-positional Adhesive (purple top)

Papermania: heat tool

Cricut: Cuttlebug, C Plate Adaptor

 

Neenah: Solar White cardstock, Bright White cardstock

Fiskars: 12″ Trimmer

4 thoughts on “Baby Girl Batik Background

Leave a Reply

