Red, White & Beautiful Day

I’m back today and submitting my first ever challenge card! I’ve been wanting to get in on the action of all the wonderful card challenges out there but I have had so many other cards to make lately, that I just didn’t have enough creative juice to join in the fun. Or, at least that’s what I thought. I am a bit nervous putting my work out there because there are so many other creative makes out there, but if I want to push myself to get better at this cardmaking caper, I need to take the plunge!

Without further ado, here is my entry for the Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge. This week, in honour of 4th of July, the challenge is based on red, white and/or blue. I didn’t really have any patriotic in my stash, but I did just recently purchase the Lawn Fawn Yay, Kites! stamp set and thought it seemed appropriate somehow. I also got to play around with my Copic markers a bit more and try to work on my colouring skills. I used a touch of Glossy Accents to bring out the eyes and nose on the squirrel and bird.

SSSChallenge 4-7-16 detail.jpg

For the clouds, I used a bit of Distress Weathered Wood to help create shadows. I then put foam tape on the top (only) of the blue kite and the top and left sides (only) on the red kite to make them seem like they really are blowing in the wind.

SSSChallenge 4-7-16

Materials Used:

Stamps: Lawn Fawn’s Yay, Kites!, Mom + Me; Altenew Beautiful Day

Ink: Memento Tuxedo Black & Rich Cocoa; Distress Ink Weathered Wood

Dies: Lawn Fawn’s Mom + Me, Grassy Border; My Favorite Things Puffy Clouds

Paper: DCWV Fresh Floral Stack, Craftwork Cards Festive Chalkboard card blank, Neenah Solar White

Copic: B97, V17, YR21, Y19, R32, R35, RV29, BG01, BG05, BG07, E35, E37, E39

Other: Ranger Glossy Accents, Docrafts foam tape, Ranger multi medium matte

3 thoughts on “Red, White & Beautiful Day

Leave a Reply

