Metallic Look Perfect Pearls Technique

I got this technique from Jennifer McGuire Inks’s post  on “Faux Textured Metal Paper” using Perfect Pearls. I took her ideas and created this card for my uncle’s birthday. (See link to Jennifer’s original post below.)

This card was relatively simple to make – and using this new technique was lots of fun. First I trimmed a piece of white cardstock and taped down with painter’s tape to keep it in place on my glass cutting board. Then I blended two different colours of Distress Inks across the surface. While the ink was still a bit wet, I brushed the Perfect Pearls medium over the surface. I sprayed a mist of water in the air and waved the card through the air to help “set” the Perfect Pearls medium. Then I just wiped it with a dry baby wipe to work it in and bring out the shine. And viola! I had a metal-like background.

Metallic Masculine Front

After I had my metallic background, I used the largest rectangle from Lawn Fawn’s Large Stitched Rectangle Stackables dies to cut the paper to the size I wanted. Then I used Lawn Fawn’s Stripey Backdrop die but used my embossing mat when I ran it through the Cuttlebug. I did this so it wouldn’t cut the paper, but emboss with with the design texture. Then I adhered to the card base. To finish it off, I die cut a banner from the same card I used for the card base. Then, I heat embossed a birthday sentiment from Lawn Fawn’s Scripty Sayings with silver embossing powder, but masked off the extra loops on either side of the sentiment as I felt they were a bit feminine for this card. I added a few manly stars to finish off the greeting and used foam tape to adhere for dimension.

Metallic Masculine Close Up

It was hard to get pictures of this card to adequately show the shine and metallic finish this technique gave, but I was really happy with the results!

Materials Used:

Stamps: Lawn Fawn Scripty Sayings, My Favorite Things For the Boys

Inks: Veramark, Distress Inks in Weathered Wood and Pumice Stone

Dies: Lawn Fawn Stitched Rectangles Large, Stripey Backdrop, & Extra Sentiment Banners

Paper: Create & Craft Christmas 8 x 16 Cardstock Pad, Neenah Bright White

Other: Ranger Perfect Pearls in Perfect Pearl (white), Cuttlebug, Papermania embossing powder in silver, Papermania Heat Tool, Dovecraft 2mm foam tape

Link to inspiration post by Jennifer McGuire Ink: http://www.jennifermcguireink.com/2015/08/video-faux-textured-metal-paper-giveaway.html

Leave a Reply

