Distress Ink Watercolour Background

For this card, I used Distress Inks and water to create the watercolour look background. First, I taped down my watercolour paper to my work surface so it wouldn’t warp and so that all the  painting would stay inside a nice and tidy white border. Then I  used a clean paintbrush to liberally add water to the area. I chose a two coordinating Distress Inks and just smooshed the ink pad directly onto the water-covered areas. Then I came back in with my wet paintbrush and urged the colours to mix as I wanted them. In some places that were too dark, I simply came in with more water from my brush to dilute the colour. In other areas I added more ink – and I  kept going back and forth like this until I had the colour looking the way I wanted it to. Its that easy!

I allowed the paper to dry on its on for a few hours. Then, I came in and stamped my greeting and a few hearts to fill the area. I added some sequins and traced the stamped greeting and images with Wink of Stella to make the whole thing sparkle. I cut a thin strip of purple paper that matched my colour scheme and attached it flush with my card base on the left side. Then, I trimmed my decorated watercolour paper to fit the card base keeping it small enough so the purple paper on the left would show through.

Watercolour Hugs

I sent this as a Valentine’s Day card to my sweet little niece but you can change the colour and greeting to work with any occasion you need!

Materials Used:

Stamp: Simon Says Stamp Big Scripty Greetings, Lawn Fawn Happy Wedding

Ink: Distress Ink in Picked Raspberry and Seedless Preserves, Memento Dye Ink in Rose Bud

Die: n/a

Paper: Crafter’s Companion watercolour paper, DCWV Double Sided Textured Cardstock Stack

Other: Ranger watercolour brush, Wink of Stella clear,  Neat & Tangled sequins in Love & Sparkles mix

2 thoughts on “Distress Ink Watercolour Background

Leave a Reply

