Triple Layer Flower Card

For this bright and cheerful card, I used a fairly simple technique that looks like it was hard to do! I gave this card to my mother in law for her birthday and there was a big discussion among the other children as to how I was able to do this technique. They had all sorts of ideas that were very involved and they were shocked when I explained how I was able to do it.

I used a bright yellow cardstock cut to 8″ x 5.5″, scored at 4″ to create a vertical card base. I then cut two more yellow rectangles to measure: 3 1/4″ x 4 1/2″ and 2 1/4″ x 3 1/2″ and put aside for when I was ready to put the card together. Then I cut three rectangles from white cardstock to measure: 4″ x 5 1/4″, 3″ x 4 1/4″, and 2″ x 3 1/4″. I then used a temporary adhesive to keep the three white pieces together centering them on top of each other with the smallest size on top.

I then simply stamped a pretty flower stamp all over the three pieces as if they were one solid piece. So, basically you want to stamp the image so that it covers more than one of the layers. Then, I simply pulled the white layers apart and matted then in between the other yellow pieces I already cut.

Before gluing them down to the card base, I tied a piece of pink and white baker’s twine around the layers and tied a pink button on before securing on the back. Then, I adhered the matted and layered piece to the card base. Easy as!

triplelayerbirthdaycard
Front

I cut another piece of white cardstock to measure 4″ x 5 1/4″ and mounted to the inside so I could stamp a sentiment. Before I adhered it to the card base, I stamped another of the flowers, having a bit of it go off the page. Finally, for a finishing touch I made a matching envelope and used a patterned paper to line it for a professional finish.

You can create a variety of different cards with different feels to them by using any number of stamps to create really simple – or more intricate designs. Such an easy, and eye catching technique to use for any occasion!

Materials Used:

Stamp: Stamps by Chloe Small Peony, Phill Martin Birthday Verses, Paula Pascual Small Everyday Messages, Crafters Companion Issue 6 Sentiment Stamp Set

Ink: Memento Dye Ink in Lady Bug

Die: n/a

Paper: yellow cardstock, white cardstock, DCWV Fresh Floral Stack Printed Paper

Other: pink and white baker’s twine, pink button, pinflair glue, We R Memory Keepers envelope board, Quickie Glue Pen

2 thoughts on “Triple Layer Flower Card

Leave a Reply

