Butterfly Birthday Wishes Card

Since my grandmother’s birthday is just after the start of Spring, I wanted to do a card with a bright colour scheme so we can leave Winter behind for the next several months.

I used a pink cardstock and ran it through my Cuttlebug with a free embossing folder I got from Papercraft Essentials magazine issue 122. I then used an old nail file to lightly distress the embossed pattern to reveal the white core of the cardstock. Then, I matted it onto a lovely teal cardstock and layered that onto a white card base. I then made a thick band from teal and vellum that I die cut with a scalloped border on both sides and wrapped around the middle of the top layer.

To Top it off, I stamped a butterfly onto clear heat resistant acetate and heat embossed in silver. On the backside of the butterfly, I filled in the wings with glue and various shades of glitter. I cut out the butterfly and glued to the left of the heat embossed greeting and bent the wings up a bit to add a bit of dimension.

closeup butterfly wishes
Close-up

IMG_0253-001.JPG

Material Used:

Stamp: Stamps by Chloe ‘Small Butterfly’, Papercraft Essentials Magazine #122 All-Occasion Stamp Set

Ink: Versamark

Die: Lawn Fawn ‘Stitched Scallop’

Paper: Stampin’ UP! Bermuda Bay cardstock, DCWV Double Sided Textured Cardstock Stack, heat resistant acetate, Create & Craft vellum

Other: Cuttlebug, Papercraft Essentials Magazine #122 embossing folder, Hunkydory Diamond Sparkles glitter in Fresh Mint, Frosted Ice and Marshmallow Pink, silver embossing powder, WOW! embossing powder Frozen Lake

Leave a Reply

