Colourful Baby Card

My cousin found out she’s having her second child this Fall! I was delighted to hear the good news and couldn’t wait to make her a card. Since the gender wasn’t known at the time, I used gender neutral colours that were bright and cheerful to reflect that we are finally moving onto Spring and warmer days are ahead!

First, I used Mama Elephant’s New Family stamp and die set to create all my pieces. I used a momma bunny, a daddy bunny, a child bunny (as she has an almost 2 year old daughter), and the baby bunny.  I also used the grass clippings, the abc blocks, and a few other extras that came with the set. I also threw in some small accent stamps from Lawn Fawn’s Little Bundle and Mom and Me sets.

After I stamped my images, I coloured them all in using COPIC markers then cut them out with the coordinating dies on my Cuttlebug. For the baby bunnies, the red bird, and the grass clippings closest to the front, I used foam tape to mount them for a bit of dimension.

For the clouds, I used My Favorite Things Puffy Clouds dies and lightly shaded edges with a light blue ink.

Welcome Baby
Front

 

Inside

For the inside, I used more of the detail stamps of the baby toys, coloured them in and cut out with the coordinated dies. I used a sentiment stamp from the set and stamped using Versamark, then heat embossed using WOW! embossing powder that has a bit of sparkle to it. I think the extra detail on the inside really added that extra punch to the card.

Materials Used:

Stamp: Mama Elephant ‘New Family’ stamp set, Lawn Fawn ‘Little Bundle’ and ‘Mom and Me’ stamp sets

Ink: Distress inks in Mowed Lawn and Salty Ocean, Memento Dye Ink in Tuxedo Black and Summer Sky

Die: Mama Elephant ‘Welcome Baby’, Lawn Fawn ‘Bundle of Joy’ and ‘Mom and Me’, My Favorite Things ‘Puffy Clouds’

Paper: Neenah Solar White cardstock

Other: WOW! embossing powder in Frosted Fir, Copic markers in W00, W2, R00, Y15, Y19, W4, R32, RV29, R35, W6, YG23, YG17, YG67, corner rounder punch, Cuttlebug

Leave a Reply

