Fairy Happy Birthday

Our niece (and my husband’s goddaughter) turned 10 this month and I created a sparkly card full of butterflies, fairies, and whimsy. I used a variety of materials from my craft stash including a free stamp set I got from Papercraft Essentials. The fairy and flower die cuts are from Tonic’s Fairy Collection and Trailing Blossom and Royal Fern Die Sets. Of course I had to finish them off with lots and lots of glitter!

 

IMG_2136

I used an 8×8 card blank and covered that with Centura Pearl in a light green matted under a layer a patterned paper from DCWV Fresh Floral Stack. Then I added another layer (this time askew) of pink Centura Pearl paper. On my very top layer, I used white card and stamped the grassy background a few times using part of a free stamp set from Papercraft Essentials issue 127. I also used the sentiment “May your day sparkle” and the fairy dust stamps from the same set on the inside.

For the butterflies, I used Simon Says Stamp Butterflies stamp and die collection. I used Distress Inks in two colours and spritzed with water before stamping to get the watercolour effect. I stamped first directly on the cardstock, then stamped, glittered the edges, and die cut two more and layered them on top for a bit of dimension. For the topper I used Tattered Lace Circle dies to cut out the two different sizes, and heat embossed the sentiment with Lily of the Valley Fairy Sentiments. I finished this using my bow maker to make a cute pink polka dot bow. Last, I used Stickles for the gem on the fairy’s necklace and Tonic Studios Crystal Drops on the bluebell dies, the fairy’s belt and again on the top left to balance out the design.

I stamped a larger butterfly (using the same colours and technique as the card front) on the bottom corner of the envelope for just an added special touch.

Materials Used:

Stamp: Papercraft Essentials Issue 127 Fairy Collection, Simon Says Stamp Butterflies, Lily of The Valley Fairy Sentiments

Ink: Momento Dye Ink in Bamboo Leaves, Distress Ink in Mowed Lawn, Distress Ink in Spun Sugar and Shaded Lilac

Die: Tonic’s Rococo Breena Fairy, Tonic’s Rococo Rhoslyn Fairy, Tonic’s Rococo Bluebell Butterfly, Tonic’s Rococo Royal Fern and Trailing Blossom, Simon Says Stamp Butterflies

Paper: Centura Pearl cardstock Sorbet Mix, DCWV 12×12 Fresh Floral Stack

Other: Hunkydory Diamond Sparkles Marshmallow Pink glitter, Stickles Pink Taffeta, Tonic Crystal Drops Raspberry Pink, WOW! Punk Sherbet embossing powder, Hunkydory Diamond Sparkles Fresh Mint glitter, Pink Polka Dot Ribbon

Leave a Reply

