Bright Birthday Shaker Card

My husband’s birthday is close to Christmas that he can sometimes feel overshadowed by the upcoming holiday. So this year I wanted to make a card that looked absolutely nothing like Christmas. While this card is (obviously) for a man, it would work great for anyone – especially children.

IMG_1957

I used almost all Stampin’ Up! materials for this card. I just love the Cherry on Top paper pack – it just begs for a fun design!

I created a 5×5 card blank from study white card stock and covered it with patterned paper from the Cherry on Top paper pack. I used three other papers from the pack and rolled up 1″ strips to create the candles. To create the shaker pocket, I used vellum and double sided dimensional tape that I covered with another patterned paper, then I filled the pocket with punched stars, hearts and circles in coordinated cardstock. For the topper I cut a strip of yellow cardstock and layered white card stamped with two different stamp sets to create the greeting. I snipped into on side of the strip to create the banner and worked the paper around a bottle to create an arch. I attached the banner using double sided dimensional tape and adhered it slightly askew to create interest.

I stamped a birthday greeting on the inside using the same colour ink I used on the front. And to finish it off, I added punched stars and a stamped sentiment on the gift card box. I’ve said in the past I like to stamp the envelopes, and I think its even more fun and interesting to add embellishments to a box.

Materials Used:

Stamp: Simon Says Stamp Happy 3×4 stamp set, Papercraft Essentials Issue 122 stamp set, Crafter’s Companion Sentiment Stamp Set (magazine issue 6)

Ink: Stampin’ Up! Bermuda Bay ink, Ranger Distress Ink in Mustard Seed

Paper: Stampin’ Up! Cherry on Top 6×6 paper pack, Yellow cardstock, Stamps by Chloe Traditional Vellum Pack

Other: Docrafts Double Sided Dimensional Tape, Heart punch, Small Star punch, Hole punch, Hunkydory Rectangle Handmade Card Boxes

Leave a Reply

