Quick Makes: Christmas Cards

Since this was the first year I made my own Christmas cards, I made each person in my family a unique card. I only did this because I wanted a chance to use all of my new dies, embossing folders, cardstock…you get the picture! What I learned is that next year I will make them all the same so I can mass cut, stamp and put together – and as you may know, not all cards are as easy as they look. But, here I have two examples of cards that didn’t take more than an hour to put together. (Sorry about the reflection in the first card – it was hard to take without getting reflection on the mirror card from somewhere!)

IMG_1935
Front
IMG_1912
Inside

For the Red Sparkle Happy Holiday card, I used a 8 x 16 card that had colour on one side (which I used as the inside.) Outside, I layered red glitter cardstock with embossed silver mirror board card on top. I used a free poinsettia die that I got in a magazine as the topper with a plaid candi center. On the inside, the card was a pretty silver grey and I heat embossed my sentiment in a sparkly red to tie it in to the front.

IMG_1897
Front
IMG_1899
Inside

For the Peace card, I used Centura Pearl cardstock as the card base. Since its a DL card, you can get two of them out of one A4 sheet of paper! I cut the ‘Peace’ with the die, and used Green Glitter cardstock behind the cut out portion. I again used my free poinsettia die as a topper.

Inside, I used a sentiment topper from Craftwork Cards and used a corner rounder on both the topper, and pearl card i layered it onto. I finished it off with a green bow and Liquid Pearls to highlight the red berries.

Materials Used:

Stamp: Gina K. Fleece Navibaa

Ink: Versamark Watermark

Die: Sheena Douglas Christmas Greetings embossing folder, Papercraft Essentials issue 126 free Poinsettia Nesting Die, Spellbinders Holiday Dies Peace Strip

Paper: Create and Craft Silver Mirror cardstock, Create and Craft Christmas 8 x 16 Cardstock Pad, Red & Green Glitter cardstock, Hunkydory Centura Pearl cardstock in cream

Other: WOW! Embossing Powder Rudolph’s Red Nose, Craftwork Cards Festive Chalkboard Plaid Candi, Craftwork Cards Festive Chalkboard Sentiments Tag Pad, Liquid Pearls in Ruby Red, Embellishment Attic Bow Maker, Green Ribbon, Cuttlebug Die Cutting Machine

Leave a Reply

