Baby Girl Partial Diecut Card

I started on this card making venture just before I became pregnant with my first baby. I’ve since had a beautiful baby girl who I absolutely adore. One of my dear friends was also pregnant with her first girl at the same time as me (her little angel was born two weeks after mine!) and I made this card for her new arrival.

IMG_1270

This card was so fun to make, but I will warn you, it does take a bit of time to put together. But, I am really proud of it and the color scheme just screams sweet baby girl!

For the card, I used an 8.5″ x 11″ piece of cardstock. Fold the card lengthwise in half, then draw a line with your pencil halfway between the center fold and the left edge of the card. Do not fold it yet, as we still have to make the partial die cuts.

You can choose any number of dies that fit your space and style of the card although I recommend sticking with an opposite number and it might get a bit crowded if you go more than three. You also want to choose a die that has a coordinating stamp although if you didn’t have a stamp to match, you could use the die on another color cardstock to cover the cut in the card base. For this card I used Stampin’ Up! Something for Baby stamp and die set. It works perfectly because the items coordinate together and you get a seamless stamp and die combo.

Figure out where you want your stamps/cuts to be and erase the pencil line (you only need to do this is you are using a light ink) where the stamp will go. Stamp your images, then place your dies over the stamps (using removable tape to secure them in place). To make the partial die cut, you want to make sure you only cut out one half of the image. When you make your sandwich, only cover the dies with the plates on the right side of the pencil line (the side that is closest to the middle.) Since the left side isn’t sandwiched with the cutting plates, that side won’t cut and will stay attached the card. Some people prefer to make their die cuts first, then stamp after. If that’s your preference, go for it. Do what works best for you. And if you have any other tips or suggestions, leave a comment. I would love to hear from you!

I didn’t have any cardstock in the right color pink, so I used my Memento ink (the same color I used for the sentiment) to saturate white cardstock and “viola!” you have cardstock that matches your stamping exactly! I then used my paper trimmer to cut the card into narrow strips and adhered to each side of the card. I embellished with Stickles around the partial die cuts and stamped a sentiment on the bottom right side. I re-purposed a ribbon that I cut out of a sweater. It was the ribbon used to the sweater on the hanger. Since I don’t hang my sweaters up, this was perfect! I tied it into a cute little bow and adhered just above the sentiment.

Materials List:

Stamp: Stampin’ Up! Something for Baby stamp set

Ink: Memento Dye Ink in Angel Pink, Dandelion, Tangelo

Die: Stampin’ UP! Something for Baby die set

Paper: Neenah Bright White cardstock, patterned paper from my stash

Other: Stickles in Pink Truffle, Pink ribbon, Cuttlebug

Leave a Reply

